“10 out of 10 SARAH BEAMISH HAD AN AMAZING STAY AT BAG END GUEST HOUSE IN MIDRAND FOR SHOW AT GALLAGHER ESTATE” 

Dear Sonia and Nico, Once again thank you so much for an amazing stay in your beautiful Guest House, Bag End, in Midrand. What a wonderful welcome, beautiful rooms and everything we could possibly need. Nora attended to our every request, even the washing for the guys, attending the Huntex Show at Gallagher. The wonderful evenings in front of your fire will be remembered and we will be back to enjoy your wonderful hospitality and friendship. To anyone reading this review, this was the most amazing place to stay, if attending a Show at Gallagher Estate. Good restaurants close and easy to get to Gallagher. For a family, the rooms were large and very comfortable. A fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed May 2017, travelled on business

 

Review by: Tony van der Poel, Secunda
We enjoyed it so much! We have visited lots of Guest Houses but this was a very special stay! The warm hospitality and food were outstanding! . We will be back!
Thanks, Tony.

Review by: Heidi Ernani Drew, Durban
What a delight to discover this beautiful tranquil place - the ambiance of gentle grace.
Hospitality warm & welcoming. I have actually stayed at Bag End Guest house for a few weeks during 2010 when I moved house - it was A home from home. Will be back - no doubt. Highly recommend this beautiful place

Review by Grant Higgo from Cape Town. 
Just a short mail to say “thank you” to you, your Family and staff for making our Family’s stay at Bag End such a thoroughly pleasurable experience! I have been to Gauteng many times and never have I experienced such a quiet, peaceful and restful retreat, so close to the urban hub of the City. Thank you also for making such an effort to accommodate us with our 6 month old baby in the middle of winter! I would not hesitate to recommend Bag End Guesthouse as a top accommodation option in the Midrand.

Review by Daniel Zuckerman from Israel.
It’s a short mail to say thanks for everything and hope that we will meet again.
The place is beautiful, very quiet, have a great breakfast and nice room with all the facilities.
I enjoyed a great 2 weeks in your place. The house is beautiful and very well equipped. 
You and your husband were very friendly and extremely helpful, making me feel at home in the house.
Thanks again for everything
Daniel Zukerman

Review from Robert Graham and friends. 
Let us be honest, most bed and breakfast guest houses are basically the same - decent bed, good breakfast, convenient locations, etc. So what makes a B&B stand out from others - the people who run it. In our case, Sonia and her staff did whatever was in their power to make us feel at home. This is an outstanding B&B. We will stay again when we visit Johannesburg

Fabulous guesthouse! 
I stayed at Bag End at the suggestion of a local colleague. I have stayed in a couple of other B&Bs in the Johannesburg area so was pleasantly surprised by this accommodation. The house is absolutely exquisite (reminding one of a French chalet), with grounds, fireplaces and an extremely friendly hostess who will do everything she can to meet your needs. You will need a car or transportation in order to get around J-burg from here, but this is not unusual for B&Bs in the area. This is truly beautiful B&B and even affordable. I highly recommend!
Stayed July 2012, travelled on business

Top notch hospitality!” Reviewed 17 June 2013 by Owyn, Femke and Anouk.
Excellent guest house and hosts! Sonia was very helpful right from the start of our stay. She and her staff were continuously attending to our needs and ensuring the best experience for us. Sonia and Nic went out of their way to make us feel at home.For us as a family this truly was a home away from home.I cannot wait for my next trip so I can book a stay at Bag End.
Stayed March 2013, travelled with family on our way to Sydney Australia.

Lovely homely Place”

Reviewed 23 October 2013 
Had a great stay with Sonia and her team.Bag End is a hidden gem!Ideal location just far enough away from downtown Midrand to rest in a family friendly atmosphere but close enough to access restaurants and shopping within a few minutes drive. Thank you for a lovely stay.

“GREAT ACCOMODATION” Reviewed 16 October 2013
I stayed in guest house for business trip. Staff very friendly and helpful. Accomodation was neat and tidy. Sonia very friendly and ensured all my needs were attended to. Can recommend as home away from home. Also enjoyed fact that all DSTV channels were available.
Stayed October 2013, travelled on business

“Hidden Gem”

Reviewed Dec 2013
I was fortunate enough to have my engagement shoot at Sonia and Nic’s guest house towards the end of last year. I was completely blown away upon arrival as the pictures on the website, although lovely, do not capture the true essence of the venue: it is stylish, homely and quirky all rolled into one - definitely a one of a kind experience. From the moment my fiancé and I stepped foot into the guest house, we were warmly welcomed by Sonia and Nic show then showed us around the estate and allowed us free reign of the property: the rooms are absolutely beautiful and immaculately kept. Nothing about the estate is synthetic or insincere. I loved how every room added a romantic and quaint atmosphere without being too girly. The gardens and greens areas are so lush - something magical that came straight out of a novel. What a hidden gem in the heart of a very concrete jungle Midrand! A huge thank you to Sonia and Nic! We will definitely be seeing you again sometime for some Joburg R&R downtime!
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple

“Home from Home”
February 2014 from Linda.
I stayed with Sonia and her team for a business trip and found everyone (including the dogs) to be very friendly and welcoming. There was a very warm family atmosphere and all the facilities that ones needs when not at home. It was very close to a Virgin Active gym which I found very convenient and the wifi was nice and fast. Security was very good and best of all the food that Sonia prepared was delicious, fresh and nicely presented. I especially enjoyed eating outside in the courtyard in the fresh air. Thank you for looking after me. Stayed February 2014, travelled on business

LOVELY TIME

TIPHAINE Blomart
lovely time at your place. thank you !
Beautiful and quiet.

Rob Martin April 2015
Sonia was so helpful she met us upon arrival and explained everything in detail, the place was exactly as advertised and was beautiful, quite and just what we required. The rooms were big and clean and the beds comfortable. The location was perfect for us and we will definitely be back. Thanks Sonia

Farmstyle setting and hospitality

.

Quaint B&B

Dr Johan Steyn from Cape Town stayed May 2015 for a Conference.
Sonia was an amazing host. Made us feel welcome from the time we arrived until we checked out. She is the owner of this quaint B&B. We slept upstairs. Rooms were large and beds were massive and comfortable. Bag End Guest house is situated in a quiet neighbourhood of Midrand. 30min away from OR Tambo International Airport (without traffic). 10minutes away from the Midrand Gautain station. I WOULD RECOMMEND Bag End Guesthouse!

15 June 2016
Urishka Singh

Just wanted to thank you once again for the lovely stay at your guest house. We really did have a wonderful time. Thank you your warm hospitality and for making sure that we felt at home.

Tecia Goodall

Thank you very much for the beautiful reception when we arrived at your guest house.
We really appreciate your kindness and the peacefulness of the environment.

Ryan Piercey

Awesome hospitality.
Beautiful house.

Review by Rob Blakey:
Stayed 25 MARCH 2015 and 9 May 2015

We loved staying at Bag End. It is our go-to place when we are in Gauteng. Sonia is a lovely, personal host.
Bag End has a relaxed farm-style setting, a lovely quirky house, and the hospitality is superb.